top of page

Strength For A Cheerful Thankful Heart

Proverbs 15:15- the cheerful heart has a continual feast.

Philippians 4:12-13- I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty. I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, heaving living in plenty or in want. I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

This Thanksgiving the Lord put both these scriptures on my heart. Why? Thanksgiving is a time to reflect on all the Lord has done for us and I need to give Him all the thanks and glory.

My bank account may not be what it once was while I was working. But I can honestly tell you my life has never been so full and so content. Like Paul. I have experienced the plenty and I have experienced the least.

So with both extremes what the difference for me? My titles have changed greatly. The ones I now wear are the most precious and are without a doubt my greatest gifts from the Lord.

I traded in businesswoman for full-time grandma, mother, and servant of Christ in my community, church, and BSF (bible study fellowship).

I can honestly say when I started this faith walk with the Lord four and a half years ago. I thought it was for six months. That was my plan. Some much needed R & R and then back at it.

Working has been the only real constant in my life for over 35 years. It's where my comfort zone was. Where I put my trust. You know in the things I could see and control. As you now know God had other plans for me.

How I have survived without working all this time is a mystery. Only God knows. I can tell you I budgeted for 6 months to one year.

If you look at my savings and my plan it wasn't possible to go beyond that by much. God's math and plans are not ours. I don't try to figure it out. I just keep trusting and doing His will.

I have grown more spiritually in the last 4 ½ years than any other time in my life and he can do this for you too. You don't have to leave your job to do it. That's what He called me to do. He can use you right where you are.

How did I get to this peace that passes all understanding? One day at a time. Staying grounded in His word and in prayer. It's not magic, it's a relationship with the living God of Israel. It’s a daily appointment I don’t skip.

Do I get fearful sometimes and worry about tomorrow? YES. At those times. I reach for my bible, read and pray for clear direction and peace with knowing I’m where He wants me.

Peace always comes, answers slowly sometimes but they come. That's why it's called faith for today. He never fails to reassure me of His love and care. You can’t out serve God. The more I serve with a happy heart the more He blesses me.

I can't see the big long-term picture. The good news is I don't have too. He sees it for me. My journey is faith one day, one step, and one prayer at a time.

This takes a lot of pressure and stresses off me. With God as my CEO life isn't perfect, (just look at my backyard) but it can be stress-free.

I don't want the evil one's darts to hit and stick. I must keep pressing forward and enjoying every single day for the gift it truly is. If you woke up breathing and you did if you’re reading this. LOL. Thank the Lord. He put the air in your lungs.

I'm not perfect, I don't have to be. My Shepard is.

I'm the sheep happily following behind Him with a song in my heart for all He's done and doing for me.

While working and traveling full time with my career I never had a lot of extra time for my children or grandchildren. Weekends only when possible. Now I'm blessed to be available when I'm needed and at a moment’s notice.

With every step of faith, God continues to open new doors. Life is very busy but also very exciting.

God has managed to fill my days with what is important to Him and yes me. Now they are filled with the things in this life that truly matter. Serving my family, my ladies and my God.

I encourage you to stop and thank God for all He's done for you. Ask Him what's next for you and step out in faith and walk toward it. You won't be sorry.

Praise be to my God from whom all blessing flow. I hope and pray that each of you has a very Blessed Thanksgiving with your families.

He put you together for a reason.


Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page