top of page

Hairbrush lessons of life

Two years ago I was at a She Speaks writer’s conference in Charlotte NC. I made sure to set my alarm and wake early (like I really needed too) I was so excited I could hardly sleep.

I needed time to pray and prepare my heart and mind so that my excellent learning could begin. I could feel the excitement in the air. I knew God had called me here and I couldn’t wait for this adventure to begin.

It had cost me more money than I wanted to spend, but I trusted God and his direction.

As I started dressing I realized rather quickly I forgot one really important thing. My hairbrush! Normally I’d panic, not today. I decided nothing is going to dampen my joy and excitement about being here.

God called me here and by golly I will make the most of my time. I can make it through one morning with my finger brushed hair. I make a note to pick up a hairbrush at the local CVS after our last session.

This day was so magical and amazing right from the beginning. It’s still as fresh today as it was then in my mind.

You see I don’t believe in coincidences, Only Gods hand in everything. This day taught me that for sure.

After checking in I sat down on a bench to get originazed. A sweet lady walked up and ask if she could sit and do the same. I said of course and moved over.

Low and behold it was my prayer partner (put together by Proverbs 31Ministires) Jill Power from TX; whom I’d never met face to face.

We had prayed with each other over the phone and emails. We had planned to text and get together after check in.

800 women were attending this meeting, so without a plan to meet we knew it would be impossible.

God however doesn’t have impossible in his vocabulary.

We both set on the same bench at the same time, doing the same thing, before we took the time to send our text. WOW.. Coincidence? No way, my God is bigger than that.

The day continued to be just as magical as the beginning.

I was learning so much and I didn’t want it to end. I did however need time to run out and grab a hairbrush before the stores closed.

I seriously never had 10 minutes this entire day to even run to the hotel store and try to pick up even a comb.

My only breaks were to run to the ladies room and try not to look in the mirror at my hair as I rushed back out.

We now were getting ready to go to our final meeting of the night. A worship service that would last until after 10PM. CVS closes at 10PM. I had already checked. Oh well, I’ll just have to make due.

I walk in find my table and low and behold on every table is a hairbrush! Yes a Hairbrush! They are to be used in the worship songs as our microphones to let our voices be heard.

I couldn’t keep the tears from my eyes. My greatest need at the moment had just been met in an amazing way. Too raise my voice to the Lord and praise him!

Too this day, I still get chills thinking of this glorious day and how God provided for me and the way he did. Amazing!

Our needs don’t have to be huge or great they can be as small as a hairbrush.

God still cares and is happy to handle the details of our lives. Big and small.

So whatever your facing today that might give you cause to worry, Don’t. Give it to God and trust that he will work it out.

He may not fulfill every want, but I know all your needs will be met just as he does mine. The bible assures us of this.

Philippians 4:16- and my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of His glory in Jesus Christ.

We as Christians are called to live in the Spirit as Gods Spirit is in us. That gives us the freedom to be happy and live victorious lives free of worry.

We will have trails, its part of life in this fallen world we live in.,but take heart. Our God is with us.

John 16:33- I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take Heart! I have overcome the word.

It’s been two and half years ago that I attended this conference; not knowing what tomorrow held. I can truthfully say. “He continues to meet my needs big and small every day as I trust in him and make my needs known. I chose to live in the freedom that only Christ can give. I hope and pray that you will too.

2 Corinthians 3:17- Now the Lord is the spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom.


Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page