top of page

Woe is Me

Have you ever had one of those days when you just feel like nothing is going like you dreamed? Depression is looming for no real reason? I have, just yesterday.

It’s easy for me to forget all the positive things in life when I’m tired and in a “blah mood”. It’s hard to focus on anything.

My to do list becomes a “aint going to happen today list.”

I have a tendency to think I have to do everything right now; and it catches up with me. I’m betting you have days like this too.

Maybe you have worked hard to become the best stay at home mom or grandparent you can be and then life happens and your children are driving you crazy and you crave peace, quiet and alone time or just a plain ole fashioned nap. Then feel guilty for it.

Maybe you’re a teacher getting ready for the new school year with a bit of excitement and dread?

Whatever it is that has us wallowing in self-pity the only solution that works for me is a healthy reminder to pull up my big girl panties and stop, read, pray and listen

I know God loves me and he knows my short comings. We are all works in progress and we will have these tough days. It’s how we handle them that matters.

God can and will use our shortcomings to teach us lessons if we allow him too.

Maybe he’s working on my patience. Maybe he’s trying to teach me to live more in faith? Maybe he’s reminding me that to live with joy is a command? Maybe He knows I need a reminder that he is true and trustworthy in all his promises and there is no shame in rest.

For me all those apply.

Only you can answer those questions for you.

Writing out my questions and journaling the scriptures that pop out at me, help me find my answers. Maybe it will work for you too.

Here are a few questions I ask myself.

1. Why do I feel this way? Is it from God or is it from the devil?

2. What is God trying to teach me?

3. How can I (with God’s help) pull myself up and out

of this slump?

4. If joy and rest are a command, why is it so hard some days?

As I was praying and reading My God was quick to reassure me “He’s in control”.

Life is a marathon, not a sprint.

Just because I don’t see what I want to see right now does not mean he’s not working in the background for me.

Am I going to practice what I teach? Or do I crumble when the devil taunts me?

All good questions that when pondering made me stronger and more determined to be joyful and thankful for every day including my hard days.

Isaiah 55:9- As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are My ways higher than your ways, and My thoughts than your thoughts.

Philippians 4:9- The things which you learned and received and heard and saw in me, these do, and the God of peace will be with you.

1 Corinthians 1:25- The foolishness of God is wiser than men, and the weakness of God is stronger than men.

John 14:27- Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.

The devil loves to whisper in our ears and hearts and try to discourage us, but we don’t have to let him win. Take back your day with God!

We serve a mighty God who loves us, who died for us, and who is in control. He has plans for each of us.

Live the plan for your life in joy every day.

“I keep turning over new leaves, and spoiling them, as I used to spoil my copybooks; and I make so many beginnings there never will be an end “ JO March, Little Women.

Grace for today

Blessings,

Brenda

It's always darkest before the dawn


Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page