top of page

Want Vs Need

I know many of you followed my pictures on Facebook last week while I was serving at Joni and Friends Family Retreat as a STM (short term Missionary) Thank you for all your prayers. This truly is a blessing for me to be a small part of such a wonderful ministry each year.

Each year we have a scripture and motto. This year it was Psalms 23.

When you break scripture down to its most basic levels it’s amazing what you can learn.

It’s important to keep your eyes and heart open and come to our Shepard (Jesus) like a child.

One thing that stuck with me out of Ms Joyce’s Young Adult class is that:

“We do have all we need in Christ”

We explored the differences of need vs want.

I don’t know about you, but this alone could be a daily lesson reminder for many of us (me included). We need to stop and look into the deep, sometimes dark places inside our lives and ask “do I really need this or is this a want?”

The world is quick to tell us what we need or must have to be fulfilled, but is it what God’s word says we need?

We can make ourselves crazy praying and begging for something we think we need that will make us happy. We seem never to be satisfied, always wanting more. Just this one more thing then I’ll be happy… that’s not how it works and we know it down deep.

These young adults, are so happy and full of joy. They aren’t concerned with clothes, toys, or status. They have contentment.

Our favorite thing in class to do when our attention spans are challenged is to dance. We have Dance breaks just as David was famous for in his day.

Let me tell you if you are lacking in joy, come to Ms Joyce’s bible/dance class. I dare you not to be smiling and have tears of joy streaming down your face. We dance and squeal to the Lord with all we have.

These young adults are happy to have help with the small things in life they are incapable of doing alone. Nothing is taken for granted.

They delight in meals and being able to say the blessing aloud for others. When was the last time you actually were excited to pray for others aloud? Did you consider it a privilege? God gave you your voice and not everyone can use theirs. If you can use yours be thankful. It’s not a need, but a blessing.

These young adults delight in the simple things of each day like: friendships, spending time in each other’s company, seeing their friend’s happy faces and giggles. They cheer each other on in everything with all their might.

One of Krystal’s biggest delights is pushing her friend Steve’s wheelchair.

The destination isn’t important, it’s being helpful to him and

spending time together. They don’t stroll and make lists of all the things they want, or think they need.

Life is simple and sweet. I learned a lot watching them this week. Remember Jesus tells us to come to him like little children. Pure hearts, motives, wants, and needs.

These two have such a special bond. A bond formed through Christ and friendship.

Joni and Friends camp is a place where both are at peace and can be themselves.No wants, no needs, just overjoyed at being in the company of friends and amazing meals. I have to admit the food here is amazing and the deserts even better. I do believe this is one area where my joy matched Krystals. We’ll close anyway. Bottom line is.. The Lord is my Shepard and if I continue to trust and walk in him, (not over complicate things) he will supply all my needs. I may not get everything I want, but I will have everything I need.

Psalms 23:1- The Lord is my shepherd, I shall not want.


Follow Us
  • Facebook Clean
  • Twitter Clean
  • Instagram Clean
  • White YouTube Icon
  • RSS Clean
bottom of page